Shut my mouth!

I have the privilege of leading a book study at my church. At first, I thought it was strange that I was leading it, because I am the youngest person in the group. Yet each week I am surprised by how much I learn and get out of our book study. Something that I have learned and truly love is that it doesn’t matter how old you are or what your situation is, there are always questions and faith is always about simply trusting in God.

This week, Ecclesiastes 5:1-2 came up in our discussion. I don’t really remember reading these verses before, but they were thought provoking. “Watch your step when you enter God’s house. Enter to learn. That’s far better than mindlessly offering a sacrifice, doing more harm than good. Don’t shoot off your mouth, or speak before you think. Don’t be too quick to tell God what you think He wants to hear. God’s in charge, not you- the less you speak, the better.” (The Message)

It made me think about how much I talk…and talk….and TALK! If you get me started on a topic that I enjoy I’m sure I could talk for hours. I think that when I go into a prayer I do a majority of the talking. I tell God how I’m feeling, good or bad, give a few thanks, and then rattle off my list of people and things I want Him to take care of. I give my “amen” and then move on. I even like to think that my thoughts and comments to God throughout the day are a constant prayer. I’m obviously very good at talking at God.

These verses in Ecclesiastes really hit home for me. I need to approach God in a way that I can learn from Him. He is the one in charge, not me. If I do all the talking and dreaming of plans, then how am I supposed to hear what He actually has to say to me? He is constantly with me, yet I dominate the conversation. That sounds like a bad relationship. I by no means expect myself to be perfect, but I hope to take the time to be silent, sit and listen to what God is saying, see what He is showing me in my surroundings and just enjoy His amazing presence.

Leave a Reply

