PLANS- life jacket or anchor?

Alan Lakein’s words “Failing to plan is planning to fail” are something that I take to heart. I feel that the most productive things I can do with my time are to write to do list’s, fill out a planner, write out specific dreams and hopes, and get all the details figured out. I think I could spend the rest of my life planning, dreaming, and figuring out the logistics.

In order for something to be successful there is a certain amount of planning that needs to take place. If I want to eat healthy, I have to go grocery shopping and buy the ingredients to help make those meals a reality. If I want to have a party, I have to pick and date and invite people. If I want to do anything, I need to make sure that the basics are set up to make the plan successful.

Plans can be a great tool to leading for success, but Mike Tyson has a great point- “Everyone has a plan ’till they get punched in the mouth.” Plans are a great tool, but they are not the end all, be all. I have a problem with getting stuck in the plan zone. I know what I want it to look like, sound like, read like, but then it’s like I get punched in the face and left starry eyed. What am I supposed to do next? How do I actually begin living the plan instead of just reading it?

I don’t want my thoughts or ideas of how something will look to stop me from enjoying what the actual outcome is. I can’t get tethered to a plan that looks great on paper and be blind to the beauty that may be happening around me. It’s definitely easier for me to say and think these things than to actually do them. I want to find that balance between planning to be successful and then just running with what actually happens.

Everyone should have goals, dreams, and plans. What would be even better is if everyone had goals, dreams, and plans that became the reality they were living in instead of just the words they are filling a notebook with. The idea of white water rafting can be terrifying, but as long as you know how to swim, have a life jacket, and have the general idea of what you are doing, it can be an adventure. The current will take you the rest of the way.

One thought on “PLANS- life jacket or anchor?

Leave a Reply

