Stop and Pray

As humans, it’s easy to try to over-complicate something. Or maybe it’s just me. I love to over-think, over-plan, over-anything, you name it. It seems like if there is a way to make things a little more difficult, I find it. Not because I want things to be more difficult, but because I am convinced that through these challenges I will become a better and stronger person. In reality, I become a more stressed and chaotic person. I might even get those crazy eyes.

For a majority of my life, I was obsessed with figuring out what I am supposed to do with my life, where I am supposed to do it, how I’m supposed to do it, with whom I’m supposed to do it…the list goes on and on…. When I really stop and think what is the core of what I want to be doing all I can say is that I want to help people. Why does it have to get more complex than that? I should just look around and realize that there are opportunities all around me, right here, right now.

I’ve always heard the Bible verses “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” but I had never really paid attention to what comes before that, until now.

“11 I am not saying I need anything. I have learned to be happy with whatever I have. 12 I know how to get along with little and how to live when I have much. I have learned the secret of being happy at all times. If I am full of food and have all I need, I am happy. If I am hungry and need more, I am happy. 13 I can do all things because Christ gives me the strength.” Philippians 4:11-13

In any circumstance, I know how to be happy. Sometimes I forget and need to be reminded, but it’s true. All I need to do is stop and pray. He’ll give me the strength.

Leave a Reply

