Meditation

Sitting quietly. Breathing in. Closing my eyes. Relaxing. Focusing on something positive. Embracing the silence. Taking time to realign. Meditation.

I’ve heard about people taking the time to do this before. I always imagined some granola eating, yoga pant wearing, hippie. Talking about connecting with the earth and other things that I don’t really understand. I guess my ideas and reality were far from true. Also, there is nothing wrong with eating granola or wearing yoga pants. I just thought it was something that I was far from.

I have begun using meditation to start my days. I just take a few minutes and sit quietly. I breath in and listen to the positive words that are spoken to me. Some how it makes a difference. I feel myself calm down. I feel my spirit and heart get a more positive vibe.

In a busy life, where answers can be found in the blink of an eye and I can be constantly entertained, it is rare that I take the time to sit, breathe, and relax. Maybe that’s why I am anxious. I don’t feel like I’m moving fast enough to keep up with the world’s speed. Maybe I’m not getting as much done as others. Maybe I’m not where I am supposed to be. But those aren’t true statements, they are just ideas that are spread throughout society and lead to negative ideas of self.

When I actually take the time to focus and get my mind ready for the day, I am able to take on anything. I see things more clearly and I understand what is important. Life doesn’t have to be full and crazy. If I am able to work harder and smarter, my product is far better than if I run around, trying to finish more and more.

Everyone has a different purpose in life. Everyone has different priorities. It is each person’s responsibility to go after their purpose and give it your best. I simply need to take a few minutes each day and help me get ready to do that. Take a few minutes to breathe. Your life will be better for it.

Leave a Reply

