What I learned as a high school teacher

I’ve learned a lot about myself, people and life in these past four years of teaching. Some of the things have been silly and some should have already been obvious. Some things were life changing. I learned so much from my family, friends, co-workers and my students.

1. BE YOURSELF! I’ve heard this so many times in my life, but until I actually understood this and began to embrace it, my life didn’t change. People around you may not like who you are and that’s okay. The people that like you for who you are really like you and that makes for an open and honest relationship.

2. PEOPLE PAY ATTENTION TO WHAT YOU LOOK LIKE. My students have been very observant as to what I’m wearing and how often I wear it. They notice if my hair is off or if it’s especially shiny. I don’t think that people need to be overly worried about their looks, but it’s just important to remind myself that people take notice.

*Being yourself and people paying attention to what you look like actually go together really well. Looks are the first thing you notice about a person, but their personality can completely change how you see them. My students have loved me in my good and bad hair days. They have loved me if I was a bad dresser (1st few years of teaching) and now that I have more (okay somewhat) stylish.

3. DON’T STOP HAVING FAITH. I haven’t been the best about getting to church every Sunday or reading my Bible regularly. These are things that I want to improve. I have learned to see God working in my everyday life. I see Him when I’m driving and I look over to see deer or bunnies just relaxing on in the grass. I see Him when a student actually gets the homework assignment or does well on a test. God is everywhere and I give thanks for that everyday.

4. DON’T GIVE UP BECAUSE IT’S HARD. Spanish 2 is the hardest level of Spanish and with the amount of grammar, it can get frustrating at times for the students. Some of them don’t make through the first semester. Some of them seem to quit around March. Some of them keeping working, trying and even through in some complaining. As a teacher, I will accept a small amount of complaints as long as the effort and work is there. I love seeing the faces at the end of the year once they realize that they have made it. So when it’s hard, it’s okay to get frustrated, just keep pushing!

More to come soon….

Leave a Reply

