What I learned as a high school teacher 2

I’m sure my lists could go on and on…

5. YOU DON’T HAVE TO KNOW WHAT YOU WANT TO BE WHEN YOU GROW UP. There is so much pressure to look towards the future and have your things figured out. There is so much emphasis put into careers, college, and knowing exactly what you want so that you can begin working towards it right away. I admire the people that have their lives all figured out, but it’s not realistic for everyone to be in that boat. It’s okay to now know what you want to do in 5 years or maybe even next month. You just have to take life one day at a time and give that day the best you’ve got. When I was in high school, I never even considered being a teacher and now eight years after I graduated high school I’m a teacher and even going to begin my Master’s so that I can learn more and more. Who would have thought?

6. FRIENDSHIPS ARE TO BE TREATED LIKE TREASURES. Life is full of ups and downs. You want to make sure that you have people by your side that won’t run away when life gets hard. It’s been said many times, but I would rather have a handful of great friends than hundreds of acquaintances that don’t really know me. The best kinds of friendships are with those people that you can truly be yourself around. Why would you want to fake it around people just so they like you? It’s exhausting and way to hard to please everyone. Just value those people that love the real you.

7. REAL LIFE AND HIGH SCHOOL AREN’T THAT DIFFERENT. When you are young, you always look towards the future as an escape from the drama, emotions and constant ups and downs. Kids look at adults and wish they were older. Things don’t change all that much once you become an adult. In fact, you have to pay bills, be in charge of your own decisions, and still deal with drama, emotions and ups and downs. Life and high school are what you make of them. You can get sucked into drama or you can live life to the fullest and make the most of what you’ve got.

Summer time is such a nice time to take a step back and do lots of reflection. I’m so blessed from all that I have learned in the last four years of my life. I’m looking forward to the many more lessons that life will throw my way!

Leave a Reply

