How am I living my life?

Now that I am living in Crookston, it seems that there is a lot more time for reflection. I guess that’s what happens when you are getting used to a new place and don’t really know many others there. I’m embracing this time and using it to think and grow.

This morning, my thoughts are really revolving around my faith life. God has given many guidelines as to how we should live our lives. He teaches us how to use money, how we should treat our neighbors and how we should treat ourselves. It makes me stop and think about whether or not I have been following these guidelines.

In regards to money, it seems like there is never enough or the money that is available is not always used in the wisest ways. God also warns against being in debt, but it seems so easy to use credit when there is something new and shiny in the store window. I know that if I remembered how God would want me to treat money, it would cause a lot less stress in my life.

When comes to treating myself or my body, God tells me to treat it like a temple. That means I should be feeding it with the best and treating it well so that it is in the best condition. This is something that I think I need to remember. In order for something to work well, it needs to be taken care of.

God tells us to treat our neighbors as we treat ourselves and since he wants us to treat ourselves as temples, we should also give that respect to our neighbors. I should love them the way He calls me to love myself. I hate the feeling of being judged by others, so I should avoid doing that to others.Love is the way to go.

I’ve been pondering these things and am challenging myself to do what God asks of me. Will it be easy? No. In moments, it will be hard to remember exactly what God calls me to do, but I know the more time I spend with Him, He will help me learn it more and more solidly until it becomes a habit.

Leave a Reply

